here’s to you

for when i told you i could tell you needed me, and you said you’d rather watch that motherfucking tv show.

for when your eyes glazed over as i read my first soon-to-be-published article aloud to you.

for when you told me i “needed to relax”, then got angry because i didn’t clean enough while you were gone.

for all of the times that you got annoyed with me for expressing my feelings, letting myself be vulnerable, was more honest to you than i’ve ever been to anyone other than myself.

for when you got annoyed with me for wanting to walk the dogs together–not just around the block.

for all of the times that you’ve made me feel small–like this, like tonight, like lately– because i have finally started to grow bigger.

 

Leave a Reply

